Pemberton Hall was built by Isaac Handy and his wife Anne (Dashiell) in 1741 on what is now Pemberton Historical Park. The home and plantation was one of the first established in Wicomico County. Today this ancient gem stands fully restored to its eighteenth century appearance. It is the only original eighteenth century plantation house open to the public on Maryland's Lower Eastern Shore.
Each year large numbers of "heritage tourists" visit Pemberton Hall from across the United States and other countries to learn about eighteenth century life as experienced on the Eastern Shore. In addition to guided tours, interpretive panels spaced throughout the core of the historic plantation and an interpretative brochure provides visitors a glimpse of eighteenth century life at Pemberton Hall Plantation.
Pemberton Hall is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is designated by the National Park Service as one of their key "Chesapeake Gateway Sites."
Tours of Pemberton Hall are available by appointment. To schedule a tour, please contact Pat Taylor at 443-235-9616.