Pemberton Hall was built by Isaac Handy and his wife Anne (Dashiell) in 1741 on land that is now Pemberton Historical Park. The home and plantation was one of the first established in Wicomico County. Today this ancient gem stands fully restored to its 18th century appearance. It is the only original 18th century plantation house open to the public on Maryland's Lower Eastern Shore.
Each year large numbers of heritage tourists visit Pemberton Hall from across the United States and other countries to learn about 18th century life as experienced on the Eastern Shore. In addition to guided tours, interpretive panels spaced throughout the core of the historic plantation and an interpretive brochure provides visitors a glimpse of eighteenth century life at Pemberton Hall Plantation.
Pemberton Hall is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is designated by the National Park Service as one of their key Chesapeake Gateway Sites.
Visit the Pemberton Hall Foundation website for more information on tours.
Enjoy beer, music and food at the Good Beer Festival on Oct. 13-14. Get tickets today!Learn More
The park is closed for the Pemberton 24. It reopens to the public Sunday, Oct. 1 at sunrise.Learn More
Learn about all the different nature trails here at Pemberton Historical Park.Learn More